NN103

“A Phase II Trial of Rituximab in Myasthenia Gravis"

 

 

Richard J. Nowak, MD, MS, is the Protocol Principal Investigator for the study “A Phase II Trial of Rituximab in Myasthenia Gravis”.

Myasthenia gravis (MG) is an autoimmune disorder of neuromuscular transmission with an estimated annual incidence of about 1-2 per 100,000 and prevalence as high as 20-50 per 100,000. Despite current therapies a subset of patients remain medically refractory or have intolerable medication adverse effects.  There is need for another agent in the management of MG as there are few effective drugs.  Safe, well-tolerated, effective and steroid-sparing therapeutics are very desirable. 

The purpose of the study is to find out the effect and safety of a new use of the drug rituximab in myasthenia gravis (MG) patients who are on prednisone.

The following fifteen institutions have been selected to participate in the study.  Contact information will be forthcoming.

 

Northeast:

  • Yale University: site of protocol Principal Investigator

o   Principal Investigator: Richard Nowak, MD

o   Coordinator: Joan Nye

Email contact: joan.nye@yale.edu

  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine Yeshiva University: Montefiore Medical Center

o    Principal Investigator: Volkan Granit, MD

o    Coordinator: Donna Patch

Email contact: donna.patch@einstein.yu.edu

  • Weill Cornell Medical Center

o   Principal Investigator: Jonathan M. Goldstein, MD

o   Coordinator: Bill Nikolov

Email contact: bln2001@med.cornell.edu

  • University of Pittsburgh

o   Principal Investigator: Ahmed M. El-Dokla, MD

o   Coordinator: Gabriela Niizawa

Email contact: niizawaga@upmc.edu

  • University of Rochester

o   Principal Investigator: Emma Ciafaloni, MD

o   Coordinator: Christine Annis

Email contact: Christine_annis@urmc.rochester.edu

Midwest:

  • Ohio State University

o   Principal Investigator: John T. Kissel, MD

o   Coordinator: Amy Bartlett

Email contact: Amy.Bartlett@osumc.edu

  • University of Cincinnati

o   Principal Investigator: Laura Ann Sams, MD

o   Coordinator: Kimberly Moeller

Email contact: Kimberly.moeller@uc.edu

  • University of Kansas Medical Center

o   Principal Investigator: Mazen Dimachkie, MD

o   Coordinator: Kelley Emmons

Email contact: kemmons@kumc.edu

South:

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham

o   Principal Investigator: Mohammad Alsharabati, MD

o   Coordinator:

Email contact:

  • University of Miami School of Medicine

o   Principal Investigator: Michael Benatar, MD, MBChB, DPhil

o   Coordinator: Sara-Claude Michon

Email contact: scmichon@med.miami.edu

  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

o   Principal Investigator: Sharon Nations, MD

o   Coordinator: Mariam Andersen

Email contact: mariam.andersen@utsouthwestern.edu

  • University of Virginia - Charlottesville

o   Principal Investigator: Ted Michael Burns, MD

o   Coordinator: Stephanie Lowenhaupt

Email contact: sal3q@virginia.edu

 

West:

  • University of California - Davis

o   Principal Investigator: David P. Richman, MD

o   Coordinator: Randev Sandhu

Email contact: rssandhu@ucdavis.edu ucdavisneuronext@gmail.com

  • University of California - Los Angeles

o   Principal Investigator: Perry B. Shieh, MD, PhD

o   Coordinator: Catherine Canamar

Email contact: CCanamar@mednet.ucla.edu

  • University of Colorado Denver

o   Principal Investigator: Dianna Quan, MD

o   Coordinator: Kathryn Connelly

Email contact: Kathryn.Connelly@ucdenver.edu

 

The study intervention is provided by Genentech Pharmaceuticals.